1970 songs used in The Virgin Suicides

In The Virgin Suicides there is a scene towards the end where the boys find a note about the Lisbon sisters asking for help. The boys go searching for their number in the yellow pages; when they called the girls they didn’t talk to them instead they played a songs. Each song represented what each group was feeling, the first is Hello It’s Me which the boys played to the sisters, its about a man thinking about a girl too long and wanting to be with the girl even though he can’t but the girl should still think of him. I think this song made me understand that at that point in the movie when the girls are locked in there house the boys wanted to be with the girl even more now and be able to see them again just like before. They also wanted the Lisbon sisters to know that they haven’t forgotten about them like everyone has. The Lisbon sisters responds with Alone Again and this song isn’t as a upbeat song as the boys, but the line that is played in the film:

“To think that only yesterday 
I was cheerful, bright and gay 
Looking forward to who wouldn’t do 
The role I was about to play 
But as if to knock me down 
Reality came around 
And without so much as a mere touch 
Cut me into little pieces 
Leaving me to doubt 
Talk about, God in His mercy 
Oh, if he really does exist 
Why did he desert me 
In my hour of need 
I truly am indeed 
Alone again, naturally” 

This part of the song really plays a great deal to the story and the isolation the girls are now facing, Prom being their cheerful night only to end with everything falling apart that leads all of them to being alone again. Next the boys played the Bee Gees song Run To Me another song that kind of makes you think are the boys trying to cheer up the girls and give them hope that they are not alone. There’s a part in the song that goes:

Run to me whenever you’re lonely (to love me)
Run to me if you need a shoulder
Now and then, you need someone older,
So darling, you run to me.”

The last song that is played is a Carole King song So Far Away, the song is pretty much telling the boys how they wish they could come right to their door by they are so far away, even though they live right in front of the girls. When you piece together all the songs and listen carefully it makes complete sense now how the ending connects with songs being played. The songs being played are almost what someone would listen when they are sad or depress, the girls are using their songs to tell the boys that they are depress and want to get out. I don’t think it change much of how I think of the movie, I still believe the boys are more interested in the mystery and their needs. What I got from watching that scene the girls want to be helped but the boys are playing music of wanting the girls to love them but to also not think they’re forgotten.


You must be logged in to post a comment.